Week 1: Old Patterns Made New Again

Welcome to my first week of squares! I’m starting off the year with a larger crochet hook, resulting in fewer stitches – 114 to be exact. Not only do I save some repetitive strain on my wrist but the result is a softer, more flexible square. Because I’ve reduced the number of stitches and rows, I’ve had to reinvent some of my tried and true geometric patterns.

THE WEEK IN REVIEW

We kicked off our New Year at a party with friends and continued the joviality with a ton of ice skating. We have a fantastic outdoor rink in Newmarket that the town completed last year and maintains with a Zamboni every hour. It’s a lot of fun and great exercise, if I can convince Evan to let me skate a few laps instead of holding him up. Then it was back to work and my usual routine of not getting enough sleep.

The first week back at work has been tough, resulting in some ground rules for myself. Mason, 6, goes to bed at 8:30 and Evan, 3, has a 10 pm bedtime. I’ve been trying to move it back to 9:30 pm, and while sometimes I’m successful, most times I’m not. Last week I was staying up until 12:30 to finish a square. In other words, too late.

Rule #1: The square has to be started by 10:30 pm. I can’t sit down to mull over colours for 20 minutes and then start.

Rule #2: If time allows, I can start a square in advance but it must be finished on the allotted night. Conversely, if I can’t finish a square in one night I can shift it to the next one.

Rule #3: Even if I’m not happy with a square, I’m not allowed to take it out or start over.

Also this week I found out that my favourite radio psychologist, Dr. Joy Browne, was let go from WOR radio. She’s been on the air for over 20 years and given phenomenal help to so many people. I really hope another station picks her up soon or she finds a different way to get her rules for life out into the ether.

And finally, I started back on WeightWatchers. Larger portion sizes and Halloween/Christmas candy have not been kind to me so I thought it was time to get back on that horse.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 1

I had a hard time deciding what the first square of 2013 should be. In the end, I chose a classic: Square-in-a-Square. What better defines a square than one that holds a square? The second one was made from a nice chunky yarn I found at the bottom of my basket.

Squares three and four have a story – my mom gave me an almost-finished blanket for Christmas about 12 years ago. She had intended to finish it but years later realized this would not be the case and asked if I still wanted it. I took some of the leftover motifs apart and used them for these scrappy squares.

With squares five, six and seven I was experimenting with my old geometric patterns. I’m very pleased with the results so watch for more colour combinations and variations. (I am a fabulous crocheter but not so great at photography. My squares are square, really.)

Week1Hope you have a great week!

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 1: Old Patterns Made New Again

  1. Jessica says:

    I couldn’t hang with your night owl kids!! 🙂 I thought Carly was nocturnal and she stays up until 10 or so sometimes. So, what time do the kids get up?

  2. Laura says:

    You’re off to a great start Andrea! It was great to see you in crocheting action tonight. Your hands are like lightning with that yarn and hook! So fast! And I even got a technique demo… How awesome. I can’t wait to see what you do next.

  3. Holly says:

    I love this sort of thing. Bravo! I look forward to following your progress. : )

  4. Pam Antink says:

    Great stuff Andrea!

  5. Anne says:

    This is awesome, Andrea! I’ll have more to say on the Knit-a-Square forum

  6. Ashley DeMazza says:

    Wonderful work Andrea! I am so impressed that you got all this done in addition to taking care of two young children. My daughters are older but I certainly remember how busy it can be. Well done!

    Ashley DeMazza
    Falls Village,CT

Leave a Reply

