Week 3: Hotel Hope

One of the South African organizations that benefits from Knit-a-square is Hotel Hope, a children’s charity in Johannesburg started by Oliver Quambash. Oliver and his team provide children with a consistent family life, including aunts, uncles and grandparents, in a loving and nurturing home environment. They also help mothers in crisis and reunite children with their birth parents or extended family.

Oliver has currently put in a request for disposable diapers as he has 18 babies to look after at the moment(!). What’s amazing about the kind people on the KAS forum is that within minutes there were multiple responses about what sizes are needed and how they should be sent, wondering if there’s a way to send more than a few at a time. Diapers can be heavy in large quantities but Ronda is asking that they be considered “slip-ins”, a term we use for the non-crocheted or knitted items that seem to “slip” into the boxes of squares we are packing up to mail. Sometimes it’s frustrating to live so far away from the people you want to help the most but there is no doubt in my mind that very soon diapers will be arriving in South Africa. That’s just how the KAS community works!

THE WEEK IN REVIEW

It’s cold here. And by cold, I mean that the high for today is -9°C (16°F) with a -20°C (-4°F) wind chill. When I left this morning it was -21°C (-6°F). It’s too cold to go skating and there’s no snow so sledding is out of the question. This leaves sedentary indoor activities – Netflix, YouTube, video games, Lego, reading, etc.

One unfortunate result of the plethora of digital activities available to our kids is the uncomfortable conversation I had to have on Sunday: “We don’t talk about Nazis or terrorists. They are not part of how we play.” We’ve started substituting those words with Ninja but I think the damage has been done. It made me sad to take a step further into the Disillusionment of Childhood, having to explain that there are bad people in the world who want to hurt others. I suppose I could have also talked about the good people in the world who have helped others. It’s times like these that I feel a psychology degree would not go amiss, or at the very least a book on parenting. I’ve always told Mason that our job in life is to make people feel good. Hopefully the behaviour we’ve modelled and the lessons we’re teaching will go further than the negative influences.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 3

Square one is a Double Crochet-Single Crochet combo. I really like its slightly puffed appearance. Squares two, three and five belong to a project I started last year – an Alphabet blanket. After experimenting with words like Peace, Love and Hope, I made patterns for the rest of the alphabet. I finally decided to pick up that UFO (Unfinished Object). Nine of the squares will be plain to make a 35-square blanket.

Square four uses a Front Post Double Crochet stitch. I like to experiment not just with colours, but also with different textures. Squares six and seven are chunky yarn stashbusters. I’ve had the same balls of yarn hanging around for far too long.

Week 3

DC-SCJanuary 24th is Visit Your Local Quilt Shop Day. I feel the need to mention this because: 1) I’m a big fan of made-up holidays; 2) I support shopping locally; and 3) while I would love to quilt but just don’t have the time, my mom is a Quilter Extraordinaire. So scoot on over to your local quilt shop and get creative.

Square Count: 21

P.S. My mom told me that her local quilt shop is going out of business next Thursday (31st). Until then they have 60% off fabric with a minimum cut of 1 metre. The shop is called Quilts and Critters and is on the main street of Millbrook (Millbrook exit off Highway 115). Diane, the owner, is a super person and will be missed.

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my three boys, Mason (10), Evan (7) and my dear husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 3: Hotel Hope

  1. Laura says:

    A great post yet again. You have a great “voice” to your writing Andrea. Keep ’em comin’!

  2. Pam Antink says:

    Thanks for highlighting Hotel Hope – Ronda will be delighted!

Leave a Reply

