Week 5: Milestones

Once a month, Pam and the KAS forum moderators create a condensed edition of news and information to share with fellow KAS members on the forum. Last week the January KasSnippet was posted. It included a tally for 2012, including this tidbit:

HOT NEWS – during early January Kasfolk contributions have reached 500,000+ squares since Day 1 of Knit-a-square!

Since the start of the Knit-a-squillion Challenge in July 2011 – our challenge to send 1.2 million squares by the end of 2013 – the square count is 261,936. In 2012, 14,053 hats and 5,992 vests and tops were sent. Take a minute to absorb those numbers. Over half a million squares have been received since 2009!

At the same time, I reached a personal milestone this week – square 35, enough squares for one blanket.

THE WEEK IN REVIEW

My family and I had a Groundhog Day/Birthday Spring Picnic for my husband. It was so much fun! Nothing livens up a dreary February like a reason to celebrate, spring flowers and a rodent cake. And for those keeping track, our very own Wiarton Willie and Pennsylvania’s Punxsutawney Phil both predicted an early spring.

Groundhog

Word is that a groundhog’s prediction is only accurate 39% of the time. Okay, so it’s a bizarre tradition that involves exploiting an innocent animal for our enjoyment. But it also bears a striking resemblance to the Pagan festival of  Imbolc, the seasonal turning point of the Celtic calendar, which I find fascinating.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 5

Square one is another foray into the Front Post Double Crochet. Because it tends to pull the square tighter, I ended up with a 7″ width so I added a DC border around to bring it up to an 8″ square. Proof that you can take a smaller item and make it bigger!

Week 5

LogCabinSquares two through five and seven are from very old yarn (think: Eaton’s and White Rose). Square six is a design inspired by the Log Cabin quilt block.

Square Count: 35
Blankets: 1!

Stay warm, enjoy the snow and I’ll see you next week.

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my three boys, Mason (10), Evan (7) and my dear husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Week 5: Milestones

  1. Laura says:

    Congratulations on reaching your first milestone of the year. And awesome-looking cake by the way! Love the log cabin square.

  2. Ashley DeMazza says:

    What a great milestone to reach!!!! Congratulations and your squares are beautiful!!!
    Ashley DeMazza
    Falls Village, CT

  3. Pam Antink says:

    The squares are fabulous, but the cake looks really yummy!

  4. Heather says:

    You inspire me, my friend! Congratulations!!

  5. Lovely post my friend! That last square (the green / brown / yellow one) is sort of Legends of Zelda themed – love it! 🙂

  6. ecozee says:

    I love the cake too, I gotta make a cake tomorrow – a brown puffle has been requested. Love the log cabin square too.

Leave a Reply

