Week 7: An Everyday Kindness

Last week was Random Acts of Kindness Week. The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation believe people should practice kindness every day and their wish during RAK Week is for people to go above and beyond the average kindness index. I’ve always been against specific days that force me to celebrate something when I should be doing it on my own, all the time. Valentine’s Day. Thanksgiving. Christmas. New Year’s Eve. I suppose choosing a specific day serves as a reminder in our busy lives to show someone they’re loved or to be thankful, kind, giving and hopeful. I try to live that way every day instead.

Nevertheless, I was drawn to this video for the winner of the 2013 Extreme Kindness Challenge. Hannah Brencher started an organization called More Love Letters after moving to New York City and suffering from loneliness and depression. Her story is touching, unselfish and genuine: the very essence of what the RAK Foundation stands for.

THE WEEK IN REVIEW

AsteroidsThe sky is falling!  The sky is falling! Oh, wait, it’s just a 10-ton asteroid hurtling towards Russia at 30 km/second, carrying the impact power of a small atomic bomb. A Russian lawmaker actually believes it was the U.S. testing new weapons.

Thanks to this cosmic event, I learned something new: practically every Russian has a dash-cam in their car to record corrupt police officers, insurance fraud and road rage. Thankfully, it also comes in handy for capturing a meteor flying across the sky. I also learned that an asteroid is a rock in outer space, which turns into a meteor when it enters the Earth’s atmosphere and becomes a meteorite after it hits the ground.

Also this week, I caved. After my public admission of SABLE, I found myself at Michael’s buying two gigantic balls of yarn.

Weakness“But they’re colours I don’t already have.”
“I’m saving money.”
“It’s a great value.”

But deep down, I know the truth. I am just not strong enough (yet) to resist a sale.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 7

Squares one and two are dwarfed by colour and style next to squares three and four. Square three-four is actually a nine-patch (nine 8″ squares) that I started last year. I had the equivalent of two squares left so that’s how I’m counting them. It feels good to finish another UFO (UnFinished Object). The pattern was based on a photo of a jigsaw quilt (see below).

Week 7

StashbusterSquares five and six are a couple of Plain Janes from the new yarn. Square seven is a true stashbuster. Last year I found a great technique for joining small bits of yarn together. I call it a Magic Knot (more detail on this technique next week). It eliminates the need for tying in a bunch of ends, hiding them in a virtually undetectable knot that is worked into the stitch. So I save up all my bits of yarn and when I have enough, I try to combine them in an attractive colour combination.

Puzzle Piece QuiltSquare Count: 49
Blankets: 1
Hats: 2

Buhnaanah.

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my three boys, Mason (10), Evan (7) and my dear husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 7: An Everyday Kindness

  1. Pam Antink says:

    The jigsaw blanket is mind boggling Andrea – the colours are so strong looking!

Leave a Reply

