Week 10: Spring has Sprung!

The geese are back, the birds are singing and the squirrels have come out of hiding. The street cleaners are revving their engines just around the corner. The snow may be melting, the temperatures climbing, but I’m still under no delusions – we will get more snow and colder temperatures. (In fact, it’s snowing as I write this.) The important thing is that the animals have made it clear: Spring is here!

Back in Week 5, I mentioned that the groundhogs predicted an early spring because they hadn’t seen they’re shadows. What would happen if they had? Six more weeks of winter. Well, that was back on February 2 and it’s now mid-March, the first day of Spring just a week away. Hmmm, isn’t that six weeks? In Southern Ontario, we’ve had snow as late as April so I guess spring in March is considered early.

THE WEEK IN REVIEW

Ready-for-shippingThe best news about this week? My neighbours were able to bring their baby home from the hospital after 19 days. The little mite had a rough start but is finally home with his parents and all are happy. Baby blanket photo to come soon (but I have to finish it first!).

The second-best news? I’ve made enough squares for another blanket! On the weekend, I took some time to package up 40 squares and a hat because my pile was fast-becoming a leaning tower. It’s amazing to see so many squares in one place. Because the squares are more bulky than heavy, I was able to “slip in” some pencils and pencil crayons.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 10

I themed this week’s squares “Stitches.” They aren’t anything you haven’t seen before but I wanted to see how many different stitches I could do. I ran out of ideas after four squares. I think the problem is that a lot of patterns/stitches aren’t suitable for a square. They could be too airy (and therefore not warm enough) or are too frustrating to create a whole square from (like a shell stitch).

Week 10

Square one is a Dc-Sc combo; square two is called Cross-Stitch; square three is the Birdsfoot Spike; square four is called “Wide Checkers”; square five has the Front Post Double Crochet, done in a basketweave-type pattern; squares six and seven were made in the round. I hadn’t tried this pattern before (Sc in back loops) but I like the result. Square six used a slip stitch to join the round but I wanted to see what would happen if I did a continuous round – square seven.

FPDC

“Be still, sad heart! and cease repining; Behind the clouds is the sun still shining; Thy fate is the common fate of all; Into each life some rain must fall, Some days must be dark and dreary.”
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Square Count: 70
Blankets: 2
Hats: 2

 
About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my three boys, Mason (10), Evan (7) and my dear husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 10: Spring has Sprung!

  1. The Birdsfoot Spike looks adorable! So when are we going to have a skill swap, where I show you how to knit and you show me how to crochet? I’m curious to see how you crochet in the round because I thought crocheting only used one needle.

    • I could definitely teach you how to crochet and I could “try” to learn how to knit! Seriously, I’ve always wanted to learn and haven’t been able to pick it up but I’m willing to give it a go. For crocheting in the round, you start with a ring.

  2. Pam Antink says:

    In the UK the winter keeps teasing us, allowing spring-like weather for two days, then wham, blasts from Siberia – our flowers are very late this year!

Leave a Reply

