Week 11: A Purposeful Yarn Bomb

Playground3Last year, an artist named Toshiko Horiuchi MacAdam created a playground masterpiece: Wonder Space II. Over 40 years earlier, feeling unfulfilled with her work as an artist, Toshiko started questioning who she was, what she valued in life and why she put so much energy into her work. The answers came when she was exhibiting a three-dimensional textile sculpture – a group of children came into the gallery and climbed into it. After much research into playgrounds and the spaces children needed to play together, the crocheted playground was born. It gives them an opportunity to cooperate, challenge themselves and use their imagination.

Playground1Toshiko uses a twisted rope made of nylon which was developed in Japan. It’s durable, doesn’t rot and is flexible enough to crochet with. The resulting net is sensitive to any movements and transmits energy. The children don’t have to be athletic but use their whole bodies. Their competitive nature comes out while they entertain each other with acrobatic feats.

I wasn’t crazy about the giant holes but it made sense once I read about why they’re there: “Children need to cope with risk. They enjoy a challenge but by nature are very careful. Presented with a play structure which does not challenge them, they quickly grow bored… and then break them.”

I’ve always thought that yarn bombing (knitted or crocheted street art) was a waste of time and resources but this is an amazing work of art and serves a higher purpose. I admire Toshiko’s philosophy: her work will not last forever but the children’s experience with it will, perhaps making something new themselves when they grow up.

Playground4

THE WEEK IN REVIEW

We celebrated St. Patrick’s Day with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes. I’m good for another year.

InviteAnd it’s that time again – birthday invitation season. Mason’s birthday is April 7 so the invites went out this week. He’s chosen a Lego theme (surprise, surprise). I wanted to go 3D this year but it was too complicated. My “mockup” doesn’t do it justice.

It’s also the Spring Equinox! Contrary to popular belief, it’s not the first day of Spring in terms of weather, as most people have pointed out the irony of snow falling when it’s supposed to be Spring. Rather, the equinox – Latin aequus (equal) and nox (night) – means night and day are about equal length.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 11

Squares one through three played around with more square formations. Imagine how great squares one and two would look as a whole blanket. Square four was a nice cranberry Plain Jane. Square five is a chunky stashbuster.

Week 11

KerrySquareSquare six is my first Dedication square. My friend Laura’s sister, Kerry, passed away in 1999 and her birthday was March 17. She loved mid-blue and daisies. Before she passed she was fundraising for Zimbabwe so I’m going to do my best to have this square sent there since KAS has strong Zimbabwe roots.

I used a technique I hadn’t used before called surface crochet. The stitch is the Overlaid Chain and it was easy to do with a great result.

Square seven is an attempt to use up the yarn from the puzzle squares. It’s amazing how much time it takes to use up five balls of yarn!

Square Count: 77
Blankets: 2
Hats: 2

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 11: A Purposeful Yarn Bomb

  1. Pam Antink says:

    A beautiful dedication to Kerry – and a very special person indeed. Hopefully, Zimbabwe we be our next stop.

  2. Laura says:

    Thank you for the beautiful square you made in memory of my sister. I am very touched by the thought, talent and love you put into it. Kerry, was, as you know, fundraising to go to Zimbabwe to volunteer in an orphanage. It is nice to know, that wherever the square ends up, it will be in the hands of a child. She would have loved that. Much love to you Andrea.

  3. Michele says:

    I’m following this blog for the first time and am getting so many good ideas! Can you please explain to me how the center part of Week 11 – Square 7 is made? How did you make the v’s separate colors from the rest of each single crochet?

    • I’m so glad you’re enjoying my blog, Michele! The centre of square 7 is a variegated yarn. When I make geometric squares, I work row to row and change colours as need be. In this case, the variegated yarn made an interesting pattern for me. It was a Michael’s Loops and Threads yarn. Enjoy! 🙂

  4. Michele says:

    D’oh! Thank you.

  5. Renee Johnson says:

    Amazing Art Work! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

