Week 15: The World is Crackers

I’m sure the last thing you want to read about is the bombing and tragedy at the Boston Marathon but I wanted to share two responses and a blog post that I thought were very fitting. Jon Stewart from the Daily Show and Stephen Colbert from the Colbert Report both said it best.

Jon Stewart to the people of Boston:

Thank you for, once again, in the face of gross inhumanity, inspiring and solidifying my belief in humanity and the people of this country. So thank you for everything that you’ve done.

…As a city that knows the feeling of confusion, anger and grief and chaos that comes with these events, I can tell you from personal experience, you’ve got a hell of a city there. You’ve done an incredible job in the face of all this.

Stephen Colbert:

Whoever did this obviously didn’t know @#!$% about the people of Boston. ‘Cause nothing these terrorists do is going to shake them. For pete’s sake, Boston was founded by the pilgrims, a people so tough they had to buckle their hats on! It is the cradle of the American Revolution, a city that withstood an 86-year losing streak [reference to the Red Sox], a city that made it through the Big Dig, a construction project that backed up traffic for 16 years. I mean, there are commuters just getting home now.

…Here’s what these cowards really don’t get. They attacked the Boston Marathon, an event celebrating people who run 26 miles on their day off until their nipples are raw for fun.

…When those bombs went off, there were runners who, after finishing a marathon, kept running for another two miles to the hospital to donate blood. So, here’s what I know. These maniacs may have tried to make life bad for the people of Boston, but all they can ever do is show just how good those people are.

Jamie Lynn of I Am Not the Babysitter wrote a great blog post about how to address  tragedy with your children. Among the steps was Respect the Victims. I’d never thought about how, as a stranger, I should address the conversation. How would I like people to talk about a tragedy I was involved in? With empathy and compassion.

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”
~ Fred Rogers (a.k.a. Mr. Rogers)

CrackersTHE WEEK IN REVIEW

Crackers. Last week I mentioned my No Cracker-Granola-Cookie Challenge (CGCC). Luckily, I’ve had an easy start because there were EIGHT boxes (and bags) of crackers in my pantry. Don’t ask me why. My husband’s response to this challenge? “Kids, your mother’s going to be baking from now on. All the time.”

On the weekend I experimented with two recipes, one for chewy granola bars and one for Ritz-like crackers. The granola bars turned out great and I can’t wait to try varieties like apple cinnamon and trail mix with different dried fruits. It was a no-bake recipe that literally took minutes.

GranolaBars

The crackers, on the other hand, were more of a challenge. It was difficult to get the dough rolled thin enough because, when it was thicker, the crackers didn’t crisp as much. The recipe directed to bake the crackers and then brush them with butter and salt, which made the tops chewy. I tried brushing them before baking, which helped, and then brushing before baking and flipping halfway through, which also helped. Next time I’m going to brush on both sides and flip halfway. I didn’t realize these crackers would be so high maintenance. Next up: Goldfish.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 15

I passed two milestones this week: square 100 and blanket number three! Square five is a little sheep. You can’t really tell but square seven has a nice blue-purple-red variegation.

Week 15

Wool Square

Wool, wool and more wool was the theme this week. Despite the fact that wool tends to stretch more and I have to be more mindful of my tension, I’m enjoying working with it. My green side is happy that I’m not using a petroleum product (acrylic).

Square Count: 105
Blankets: 3!
Hats: 2 (and one in the works)

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 15: The World is Crackers

  1. Laura says:

    Love the quotes and words about what happened in Boston. I love the Fred Rogers quote. Thank you. I find it hard to talk to kids about these things. On a lighter note, re crackers, I have some very small cookie cutters if you want to use them for goldfish–no fish shapes but other shapes. My son can vouch for the yummy-ness of the granola bars. Rock on girl!

  2. Laura says:

    AND congratulations on your milestones!

  3. Jessica says:

    Sharing the recipe for the granola bars? 😉

Leave a Reply

