Week 16: Eight Years of Inspiration

YouTube, the purveyor of everything from music videos to social causes to clips of cute babies, turned eight years old on April 23. YouTube was created in 2005 by three former PayPal employees, Chad Hurley, Steve Chen and Jawed Karim. Roughly 60 hours of new videos are uploaded every minute and the site has over 800 million unique users a month. Justin Bieber, Psy (Gangnam Style) and Kony 2012 (a search for Joseph Kony, leader of the Lord’s Resistance Army), have all made history on this site.

Among the content uploaded in the past week was this video from Knit-a-Square. This KAS quarterly update, How You Warmed Orphaned Children, contains a multitude of photos of children receiving blankets, hats and soft toys, as well as a video created by Eileen Fletcher, a travel photographer who gave a talk to her knitting group. It’s 10 minutes long so hang in if you can, but here’s my favourite part: “Every square you send will go into a blanket that will be wrapped around a child, and as it’s wrapped around that child, they will be told that they are unique and special and that they have a role to play in their country.

chris-hadfieldI was lucky enough to come across this video of Colonel Chris Hadfield, an astronaut currently aboard the International Space Station. Chris recently made history as the first Canadian ISS Commander. I’ve “liked” his Facebook page and my FB feed is decorated on a daily, sometimes hourly, basis with stunning images of the Earth from space. But until today, I hadn’t known of his amazing drive and outlook on life. Chris believes you can literally turn yourself into the person you’re going to become. Accept the things that don’t work out and keep moving toward your goal. Measure the success of your life by the small victories along the way.

And finally, last week I watched this video of Carly Fleischmann. Carly is a non-verbal autistic girl who communicates with the use of a laptop. It’s an amazing, uplifting, inspirational story of a family that refuses to give up and a window into the world of autism. Carly has become an activist, helping people understand the challenges of her world and the importance of hope.

So, thank you, YouTube, for giving us the opportunity to be inspired for the last eight years.

THE WEEK IN REVIEW

Week #2 in the No Crackers-Granola-Cookies Challenge brings us Goldfish – those cute little cheese crackers that children and adults love. I would say the recipe I tried was more like a cheese puff. Deliciously cheesy, almost irresistible, but still not a true cracker. It turns out the boys love them. The picky eater said they were too cheesy but that he “still liked them.” Ugh.

Goldfish

Now, the granola bar variations have been fun… apple cinnamon, Rocky Road with pecans, marshmallows and chocolate chips (after which Mason informed me that he doesn’t like marshmallows – WHAT?), little pieces of cranberries with chocolate chips. They are a great vehicle for ground flax seed, nuts, wheat germ, Salba or any other healthy tidbit that my children wouldn’t eat on their own. Bwahahahahahahaha!

Next week I think I might try graham crackers. I’m not confident about my cracker recipes anymore, they’re just turning out too flaky.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 16

new_mandala_by_relplusIt was my friend Laura’s birthday on Tuesday (16th). Laura’s square, square one, is an interpretation of a mandala, a spiritual symbol in Hinduism and Buddhism representing the universe. The mandala symbolizes the nature of experience, wisdom, impermanence and enlightenment.

Tree of LifeIt was also my friend Jessica’s birthday on Friday (19th). The square I made for Jess, square four, is the Tree of Life. A symbol present in the Iroquois, Ojibway and Anishinaabemowin cultures, the Tree of Life is a concept that’s been used in science, religion, philosophy and mythology. It represents the interconnectedness of all life on our planet.

Week 16

I really like the colour combination of square three. Squares six and seven were made with donated yarn – thanks, Andrea L!

There are some great people born in April: Heather, Jo Ann, Mason, Cole, Laura, Mike, Jessica, Erika… Happy birthday to all the April babies out there!

Mandala Square        Tree of Life Square

Square Count: 112
Blankets: 3
Hats: 4

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my three boys, Mason (10), Evan (7) and my dear husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 16: Eight Years of Inspiration

  1. Laura says:

    I am very touched that you made a square for my birthday. It is absolutely beautiful. I love it. I feel honoured and am so glad it will be going across the world to warm and cheer an unknown child. Awesome. Although my night leaves me with next to no time, I’m excited to watch all of the videos you posted once I have the opportunity. I’m always amazed at what you find to share with us.Thank you for being such a beautiful person and a wonderful friend. xo

  2. Andrea your squares are exquisite!

  3. Laura says:

    Finally had a chance to watch the videos. Very inspirational and touching. I appreciate you sharing them. Thanks!

  4. ecozee says:

    I will watch the videos when i feel strong enough (I know I will cry). Happy things make me cry too! Your birthday square is amazing and I love the tree too, They have just started selling goldfish crackers over here but they call them “Finz”!!!!!! – my kids like them and used to only get them when we visit relatives in the states. We are also pretty excited about new little snack bags of mini ritz crackers!

Leave a Reply

