Week 18: Curiosity Killed the Anger

I am a firm believer that the universe tries to tell me things. This week’s lesson was “be curious, not furious.”

NASA-Mars-RoverCuriosity can be a bad thing or a good thing: “Curiosity killed the cat” versus NASA’s Mars rover Curiosity; nosiness versus an inquisitive interest. I’ve always been a curious person, interested in word origins, where cultural customs come from, what makes people tick. Given that, you would think I would be naturally curious about a person’s behaviour or statement before reacting. After more than a few run-ins and misunderstandings this week, the universe has told me this is clearly something I have to work on, to find out why someone has done or said something before responding with raw emotion to them. Time Outs work for adults too.

I’ve found that this is especially important in social media and public forums, where you have no sense of tone and the reasoning behind what’s being written. It’s easy to react emotionally, assuming the worst of a person. What’s at the heart of their feelings, opinions, thoughts? Have you ever tried to be angry and understanding at the same time?

“Be curious, not furious” can be applied to more than just internet interactions or personal arguments. Take a look at this video of Ronald Davis and tell me if you would pass judgment when seeing him on the street. I would. So next time, I’m going to try being curious instead.

THE WEEK IN REVIEW

Week #4 in the No Cracker-Granola-Cookie Challenge saw me relenting, throwing in the towel, surrendering… in short, quitting. I love the fact that the crackers I made didn’t have any artificial ingredients but the time factor couldn’t compete. In the end, not buying crackers didn’t make any difference to my grocery budget but did take up a lot of my time (ask my family). On the plus side, I will never go back to buying granola bars.

The Adjustable Magic Ring

hulka_adjustable_13I thought that since I’ve been using the “square in the round” pattern quite a bit, I should highlight the Adjustable Magic Ring. Typically when starting a round project, the instructions tell you to chain a specific number, slip stitch in the first chain and work your stitches in the resulting circle. This creates an open circle in the middle. The Magic Ring is an adjustable ring that you pull tight, creating a solid circle.

  1. Make a large loop two to three inches from the end of your yarn.
  2. Holding the yarn where it overlaps, insert your hook through the loop from front to back and draw up the yarn through. For single crochet, chain 1 (this doesn’t count as a stitch); for double crochet, chain 3 (this counts as a stitch).
  3. Continue to crochet over the loop until you have the required number of stitches for your first round.
  4. Untwist the tail, then pull the tail to draw the loop closed.
  5. Close the circle as you would a normal round by crocheting into the first stitch (SC) or slip stitching into the top of the chain 3 (DC).

For more in-depth instructions and photos, visit Crochet Me.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 18

This week’s squares are brought to you by the colour purple and the letter G! Square two is for the alphabet blanket (that never feels like it’s going to be finished). The remaining squares are from my wool stash.

Week 18

Winding Path SquareSquare seven didn’t visually work out as I wanted by still looks interesting. It reminds me of a winding path.

I’ll be putting together another package for KAS this weekend. My pile of squares is once more becoming a leaning tower!

Pile

Square Count: 126
Blankets: 3
Hats: 5

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 18: Curiosity Killed the Anger

  1. Pam Antink says:

    It doesn’t matter of your pile is imitating the Leaning Tower of Pisa – just as long as it climbs upwards! Another interesting report, and the video of Mr. Davis is a wonderful reminder not judge too harshly! Thanks Andrea.

  2. Laura says:

    A very moving video Andrea.Thanks for sharing that. “Be Curious, not furious” is a good message for me to hear. Love the funky square. xo

  3. Ashley DeMazza says:

    I can’t believe all you have accomplished Andrea. You are amazing!
    Ashley DeMazza
    Falls Village, CT

Leave a Reply

