Week 21: 1943

70 CakeMy dad turned 70 years old last week. We had a party for him on the weekend and I was tasked with making the cake. Of course, I had to go all out for the big 7-0. So, I found 20 things that were younger than my dad and flooded the “7” and “0” cakes (chocolate and vanilla, respectively) with flags. Thankfully, my dad took it the way I had intended – lightheartedly and with love and respect.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In no particular order, here are 20 things younger than my dad:
20Things1. The State of Hawaii (1959)
2. Bazooka bubble gum (1952)
3. James Bond (1953)
4. The Internet (1995)
5. The State of Israel (1948)
6. Kodak Instamatic camera (1963)
7. The State of Alaska (1959)
8. Peanuts/Charlie Brown (1947)
9. Polaroid camera (1948)
10. Raggae music (1960)
11. Scrabble (1952)
12. Twix (1967)
13. The Slinky (1945)
14. Star Trek (1966)
15. Xerox photocopier (1949)
16. Zip Codes™ (1963)
17. McDonald’s (1948)
18. CBC – Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (1952)
19. Tim Horton’s (1964)
20. Compact discs (1982)

JBAY RECYCLING PROJECT UPDATE

A YouTube video was created for the JBay Recycling Project. They’re now offering the children the opportunity to exchange their mula (tokens) for skills training such as knitting, wood work, paper making, chess, body intelligence, arts and crafts and computer skills. Amazing!

JB12This is Jonathan and he’s saving for his dream bicycle, 350 mula. He currently needs another 75 mula. He has such determination we’re all sure he’ll achieve his goal in no time.

It’s heartwarming to see photos of these little kids working so hard to bring their recyclables to JBay week after week, dragging huge bags behind them.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 21

Every once in awhile I like to trust my intuition when I’m playing around with patterns. Sometimes it works out, sometimes it doesn’t. Thankfully, square one worked out!

Week 21

monkey-japan3_1108218cSquare two is what I originally wanted to make when I first saw this superwash merino wool – Japanese mountains. I’m still trying to work through my wool stash for squares four and five – four balls left! And I’m almost done with the very old yarn used in square seven as well. Have a great rest of the week!

Mountains Square

Square Count: 147
Blankets: 4
Hats: 5

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 21: 1943

  1. Pam Antink says:

    Happy Birthday Andrea’s Dad! Thanks for highlighting one of the good things happening in South Africa – I hope other areas of SA will spread best practice and benchmark with Jeffries Bay. Not only does it keep the environment clean and tidy for everyone, but it is bringing both sides of the community together for mutual benefit!

  2. Laura says:

    Beautiful and clever cake my dear! Love the squares. The landscape is super cool!

  3. Laura says:

    P.S. love the photo of you and your Dad.

  4. ecozee says:

    great family photos – made me cry – missing my mum who died at 70, my dad is also 70 this year (august) and it will be weird as he was always younger than my mum! love the japanese mountain square.

Leave a Reply

