Week 22: Colour Matters

crayola_4While on the Merriam-Webster website, I found a list of Top 10 Words for Unusual Colors Worth Looking At. I love both words and colour so this is a perfect combination and not one that you’d think of making. Even better than the origins of these words are the colours when you look at them together as a group. Who knew these colours could be more interesting than Crayola crayons?

VermilionVermilion – The word vermilion comes from the Latin vermiculus, meaning “kermes.” Kermes are the dried bodies of insects used to make this ancient red dye.

Verdigrs GreenVerdigris Green – Means “green of Greece.” The ancient Greeks hung copper plates over hot vinegar. When copper naturally oxidizes, a verdigris green film forms on its surface, like on the Statue of Liberty.

TitianTitian – The great 16th-century Italian artist Tiziano Vecellio, known as Titian, painted women with brownish-orange hair, inspiring the colour name titian.

BisqueBisque – Probably an altered form of biscuit, meaning “earthenware or porcelain after the first firing and before glazing,” which is also from the Anglo-French (pain) besquit, “twice-cooked bread.”

PucePuce – Puce comes from the French word for “flea.” A probable connection between the flea and the colour puce is the flea’s hunger
for blood. (Ew.)

CattleyaCattleya – This colour comes from a common form of orchids named after William Cattley, an avid collector of ferns and tropical plants. Cattley’s enthusiasm for orchids helped fuel a British craze in the 1700s.

SmaltSmalt – From the Germanic term meaning “to melt.” The blue glass, smalt, is created by melting together potassium carbonate, silica and cobalt oxide.

DamaskDamask – The damask rose, a flower that traveled to Europe during the Middle Ages, was named for the Syrian city of Damascus. The hue of the rose lives on in this colour name.

JasperJasper – This colour name comes from the opaque quartz stone called jasper. The ancient Hebrew word for jasper, yushphah, may have meant “glittering,” “polish” or “speckled stone.”

BittersweetBittersweet – It was the American plant called “false bittersweet,” with its orange fruits, that inspired the name of this colour. The original bittersweet plant is from Europe.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 22

I’m still trying to use up both the really old acrylic and the wool. Next week will bring some new squares. You may not be able to tell but the middle of square one is a heart (larger photo below). Square two is an experiment with four small squares sewn together. Square five reminds me of Charlie Brown’s shirt.

Week 22

Heart SquareSaturday, June 8 is Worldwide Knit and Crochet in Public Day! So get out there and show the world your needle/hook pride.

Square Count: 154
Blankets: 4
Hats: 5

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 22: Colour Matters

  1. Pam Antink says:

    Well I never Andrea! Thanks for sharing the meaning of the names – one never really thinks of these things! More delicious squares.

  2. Andrea I still arrange my pencils/crayons/felt pens in the order of the rainbow. I sort my wool by colour, and always taught my English learners the different reds greens and so on….I’ll never forget hearing them rolling the different names around. When I worked in an art shop my favourite task was tidying the calligraphy inks with all the glorious names and illustrated boxes.
    Colour does indeed matter and especially for the KAS children…

  3. Laura says:

    You’re going to have to change Evan’s age next week for your “About Andrea Squared” blurb. 🙂
    I always thought that puce was a vomit-type colour. Well now I’ve been schooled! I had heard about the Titian colour meaning but only thanks to Anne of Green Gables (my hero). Thanks for another great post.

Leave a Reply

