Week 25: What Are They Up To Now?

Milestone alert… blanket number FIVE is complete! I thought this would be a good time to update the progress of some of the people I’ve mentioned over the past six months.

img_1078Prairie Sweet Bakehouse
Do you remember my friend Cynthia from Prairie Sweet Bakehouse (week 9)? Cynthia has relocated to Winnipeg, Manitoba to spend more time with her ailing dad. So far, she’s seen some great success at the farmers’ markets, where they seem to have more of an artisan focus. So, if you’re in the area of the Wolseley Farmers’ Market, stop in and say, “Hi!” to Cynthia.

Astronaut Chris Hadfield
After five months circling the globe at the International Expedition 35 LandingSpace Station, Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield is not only back on solid ground but has also retired from the Canadian Space Agency. He shared hundreds of photos through Twitter and Facebook, made informative YouTube videos about life in zero gravity, participated in school events, helped conduct more than 100 science experiments, wrote and performed a duet with the Barenaked Ladies, entertained people with his own version of David Bowie’s “Space Oddity,” and, most importantly, reignited excitement and interest in space travel. I think he deserves some time off. Chants of “Senator Hadfield” and “Prime Minister Hadfield” can be heard across the country. Hot news: The Simcoe County District School Board trustees renaming the Bradford Southwest Public School as Chris Hadfield Public School!

CarlyCarly Fleischmann
In week 16 I introduced you to Carly, a non-verbal autistic teenager who communicates with the use of a laptop. This fall, Carly will be attending classes at the University of Toronto! She has enrolled in Victoria College’s Bachelor of Arts program with the goal of becoming a journalist. U of T has gone out of its way to make it work for Carly. Amazing.

Zach Sobiech
Zach passed away a few weeks ago (see week 20 post) but since then, researchers at the University of Minnesota, with the help of Masonic Cancer Center, have found two locations in the genome that indicate whether a child is more or less likely to get osteosarcoma. These variants explain more about the biology of the disease and make room for more research.

Knit-a-Square
I met a fellow KASer for a long-awaited coffee on the weekend. It was great to finally meet someone in person after years of online interaction. Anne and I joined the charity at around the same time in 2009 and she reminded me of what the forum used to look like.

Forums

DistributionKAS2So, what is KAS up to now?

“A lady named Lindiwe (not our Lindiwe!) has taken over this abandoned gym to help the children in the area. Ronda says, the building is huge – ICY COLD and quite inhospitable and it is surrounded by great poverty – one of those really heartbreaking places. But, the children were their usual sweet selves. KAS also visited in 2011. Unfortunately, it was too cold to undress the children as many off them had colds & snuffles, so the jumpers etc. had to be put on over their existing clothes, which means they do not look their best!” Look at that face, at all those faces, and tell me you don’t want to scoop them up into the biggest hug.

DistributionKAS1

THE SQUARES – WEEK 25

Thanks to squares four through seven, I almost made it through the wool stash. Almost. I have the tiniest little ball of variegated left. I have some green wool to tackle but the purple is gone (yay!). Square three is a two-strand mix of corn and cotton (green, and yes, corn) and a fine blue acrylic.

Week 25

Flower HatAnd because I’ve finished five blankets, here’s another hat. I dislike sewing so I worked on the flower and leaf as I went around. I think it’s adorable!

GardenSummer is here and my garden is happy.

LunchI made the last school lunch for this year!

Enjoy your weekend and to all the Canadians, Happy Canada Day!

Square Count: 175
Blankets: 5!
Hats: 6

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 25: What Are They Up To Now?

  1. Anne Powell says:

    Andrea – it was such fun to finally meet you for coffee. I had my camera with me so we could get a photo for posting on the forum, but we laughed and talked so much, I totally forgot!

  2. Pam Antink says:

    I’ve given Anne a stern verbal thrashing over her forgetfulness with the camera! A lost chance to see you both together!! Thank you for another week of reflections Andrea!

  3. Laura says:

    Thanks for another great post Andrea. That hat IS adorable–I saw it in progress and it was beautiful. I feel an optimisim and positive vibe in you that is wonderful as an example for me. There are many good things ahead. See you soon my dear.

  4. ecozee says:

    great to find how everyone is doing, school finished here on thursday 27th and then it turned rainy! I just bought that spikey purple plant for my garden, what’s it called?

Leave a Reply

