Week 28: The Coolest Person Ever

fl-oldest-hospital-volunteer-birthday10dMazie Ford was born the same year the first airplane flew in Europe and the Great San Francisco Earthquake struck. But making it to 107 years old is not why she’s a-Mazie-ing (sorry).

Mazie celebrated her birthday on June 28 at Memorial Regional Hospital in Florida, where she has volunteered on a daily basis for over a decade. In addition, this adorable woman began crocheting hats for newborns after her 100th birthday, delivering approximately 4,000 of them to date. Mazie delayed her birthday celebrations until she had dropped off her monthly batch of hats to The Family Birthplace. Crochet Spot has deemed her “the coolest person ever” and I have to agree.

This world is a wonderful place. … I’m happy when I get up in the morning and I see the sun shining.

Mazie has two children, four grandchildren and a third great-grandchild due soon. You can watch a short interview here. Her 85-year-old daughter and caregiver, Johanne, said she has always given back. It makes her happy. We have finally found the secret to a long life – giving. If I can keep helping people, combined with the longevity genes on the female side of my family, I’ll have a long life to live yet! I only hope I can live it with as much elegance and spirit as Mazie Ford.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 28

Square one is the Birdsfoot Spike. Squares two and three were made with the new yarn. I love the colour combination. Square four has a twist – the pocket from a pair of my son’s jeans. I have four pairs of his jeans that have holes in the knee. Instead of throwing them out or giving them away (a.k.a. making them someone else’s problem), I decided to cut the pockets off and sew them on squares.

Week 28

Clamshell Spike SquareSquare seven is a pattern called Clamshell Spike. It’s a difficult pattern to follow because you really have to pay attention. I did a lot of frogging (unraveling rows of work because you made a mistake – a frog says “rip it rip it”) but I’m very happy with the outcome.

I’m on vacation later this week, heading off to David’s hometown for the 2013 Hot Air Balloon Rally. (Look for my balloon square next week!)

Interestingly, the word vacation has roots in Pocket Squarethe Latin vacatio, meaning “freedom.” I’m guessing that didn’t apply to travelling with kids. 🙂

Square Count: 196
Blankets: 5
Hats: 6

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 28: The Coolest Person Ever

  1. Pam Antink says:

    What a ‘trooper’ Maizie is! So lovely to read about someone who has discovered life through giving – an inspiration to us all.

  2. Laura says:

    Great to have role models to inspire us! Love the squares, esp the two you featured. The pockets are a great idea. Have a great time away. Hope some of it is restful and rejuvinating.

  3. ecozee says:

    Love the jeans pocket, I just cut the legs of my wee man’s holey jeans and sewed them into shorts.

Leave a Reply

