Week 32: Bridging the Gap

Pittsburgh2Eighteen months ago, a Pennsylvania resident named Amanda Gross had an idea: yarn bomb Pittsburgh’s Andy Warhol Bridge. Amanda had moved from Atlanta to Pittsburgh five years earlier and noticed how important the bridges were, crossing over three major rivers.

The Knit the Bridge project is one of the biggest
yarn bombs in the United States. It involved more than 1,800 knitters and crocheters from over 80 Pittsburgh neighbourhoods and 120 area townships, combined with designers, lawyers, architects, structural engineers, riggers and 3,000 feet of yarn. Volunteers worked all weekend to attach 580 blanket-sized panels. Larger panels were attached to the towers.

Bridges are such an awesome symbol of bringing communities together. Unfortunately, in southwestern Pennsylvania, bridges often divide us as much as they connect us.
~ Amanda Gross

Warhol Bridge

Warhol Bridge3cNormally, I find this kind of excess wasteful and pointless but I think this is one of the exceptions. It’s an art installation on the Andy Warhol Bridge (not a coincidence). Kids, seniors and people with various challenges donated their time and energy to knit and crochet. The organization believes that every person counts. When the Knit the Bridge project is finished, the panels will be laundered and donated to charitable organizations in the area.

What’s unfortunate is the media coverage of this event. Not one news agency touched on the motivation behind the project or where the finished pieces were going to be used, eliciting a negative response from people (like me) who feel that yarn bombing is a useless excess.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 32

Square one is a Square in the Round with alternating SC and DC rows. Square three is an awesome pattern called Fisherman’s Ring. Square four is adapted from a blanket called Dewdrops. Square six is adapted from a cuddle bag and it uses the Raspberry stitch. Square seven has some shoelace practice.

Week 32

Knit SquareI hear you asking, “What is square five?” Square five is my first KNITTED square! Over 30 years ago, my mom taught me to crochet. After several unsuccessful attempts over the years, my mom taught me to knit on the weekend. It finally all made sense. Knitting a square for KAS has been something I’ve wanted to do for a long time.

Things I’ve learned: I shouldn’t knit while watching TV, especially a murder mystery. Knitting is just as portable as crochet, but is much harder to correct when you make a Fisherman Squaremistake. Tension matters more. I’m still working on the most efficient way to hold the yarn and needles without knitting too tightly. While I don’t find knitting to be as much of a zen activity as crochet, I did enjoy the challenge of making something new. I can’t say this is something I’m going to do on a regular basis – this square took three days – but this is definitely not the last thing I’m going to knit.

Square Count: 224
Blankets: 6
Hats: 6

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my three boys, Mason (10), Evan (7) and my dear husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 32: Bridging the Gap

  1. Laura says:

    Congrats on the knitting! I have yet to try to knit, but have always wanted to try, as my Nana has up till recently been known for her Christmas stocking knitting. The bridge project looked cool and glad the panels went to good use afterwards. Fisherman’s Ring rocks. xo

  2. Pam Antink says:

    Thankfully the Knit the Bridge project has made the main feature – bringing the communities together! Working with yarn seems to bring out the best in people – as all of us involved in Knit-a-Square know so well. Thanks Andrea, another informative blog.

Leave a Reply

