Week 41: Simplicity

keep-calm-and-smell-the-rosesIt’s easy to get sucked into the drudgery, the everyday monotonous routine that makes you feel like a hamster on a wheel. Personally, I get to the point where I forget when I last took a deep breath and looked around. Sometimes I just sit and listen – it’s amazing what you can hear when you stop moving. I came across a list of six thought-provoking statements that will help make you feel better about life. How lucky we are to have simple lessons remind us that life is actually great, and if not great, then good or even okay. (Thanks to Vincent Nguyen at Tiny Buddha for the following diversion from the flag squares.)

WHAT MAKES LIFE BEAUTIFUL?

1. You can’t ever really be bored.
Sure, it’s easy for a kid to say it, but think about the vast world we live in. How much have we actually seen? Think of the limits to your imagination – endless.

2. You have the potential to make someone smile.
Have you ever smiled at a stranger? Have you been smiled at by a stranger? All of a sudden you make a connection. Some people believe they’re invisible. Prove them wrong.

3. You’ve gotten through so many moments where you thought it was going to be all over.
Did you ever think to yourself, if I don’t have this, I’ll be miserable forever? Well, forever is a long time and those feelings eventually fade. I believe the universe only gives you what you can handle. Time may not heal all wounds but it certainly makes them less painful.

4. You have the power to better yourself every day.
Acceptance of who you are is essential, learning to love yourself, faults and all. But that doesn’t mean you can’t become a better person. Work toward becoming your ideal self a little each day.

5. You from five years ago had nothing on present-you.
Would you recognize yourself from five years ago? Five years from now, you’ll look back and realize how much you’ve grown.

6. You have the potential to learn about anything.
Thanks to Google and YouTube, you can literally learn about ANYTHING. Learning keeps your brain active, makes you passionate about something, gives purpose. Think of the potential!

THE SQUARES – WEEK 41

Square two is the Sedge stitch. Square five is an “X” for the alphabet blanket – four squares to go! Square seven is from a free pattern that I can’t find online. I’ll post it soon.

Week 41

Popcorn Party SquareSquare four is called Popcorn Party Granny Square and was rather difficult. I think it would be suited to a thinner yarn.

Apologies for the less than perfect photography – I forgot the camera at my mom’s at Thanksgiving. Gobble, gobble!

Square Count: 287
Bonus Squares: 2
Blankets: 8
Hats: 9

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 41: Simplicity

  1. Cooper says:

    I really like the “X” square and the “Popcorn Party Granny Square.” How did you do that? I also like the list of six things. Mom read it to me. From Cooperman.

  2. Pam Antink says:

    Know exactly what you mean Andrea! It amazes me how often I forget to look at the night sky and breathe in with awe and wonder. Our lack of gratitude for the universal bounty is astonishing at times. Thanks for the quotes.

Leave a Reply

