Week 42: A Heart of Gold

Robles-ThomasJessica Robles, the woman on the left, is a mother from Miami who was so desperate to feed her hungry children that she tried to steal $300 worth of groceries. The woman on the right is Miami-Dade County Police Officer Vicki Thomas who responded to the shoplifting call. She was about to arrest Jessica but after running her criminal history (and discovering the lack thereof) changed her mind and bought her $100 worth of groceries instead.

I made the decision to buy her some groceries because arresting her wasn’t going to solve the problem with her children being hungry.

Jessica has three children, ages 12, 5 and 2. Her boyfriend, who had lost his job, was receiving assistance but the aid stopped due to a paperwork issue. When asked why she tried to steal the food, she replied, “My children are hungry.”

So, with her own money, Officer Thomas bought Jessica’s family groceries with the promise that when she gets on her feet, she’ll help someone else out. But that’s not the end of the story.

When word spread about what happened, people donated another $700 for Jessica to spend at the grocery store. A local business owner then invited her for an interview and hired Jessica on the spot as a customer service rep.

There’s no words how grateful I am that you took your time and helped somebody out. Especially somebody like me.

This is a perfect example of what happens when people stop judging others and start lending a hand to their fellow humans.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 42

It’s a nice grouping of squares this week, if I do say so myself! Square one is a little bobble SC-TR combo. Square three is a corner for the alphabet blanket, along with the “Y” for square seven. Y? Because it’s almost done! Square four is a free Red Heart pattern called Sunrise Sunset. When I think back to the first time I tried this pattern, I really notice how much my crochet skills have improved. I couldn’t make it work, no matter how hard I tried.

Week 42

Sunflower SquareSquare five is a spur of the moment sunflower. I love the layered petals!

Square Count: 294
Bonus Squares: 2
Blankets: 8
Hats: 9

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 42: A Heart of Gold

  1. ecozee says:

    I love the story, America is such a crazy place that lets its own children go hungry, but I know, ‘cos I lived there, that the normal folk are the kindest you could meet anywhere – well they have to be because the “government” is no use at all. Anyway, after crying at you story, the squares made me smile, I love the sun one.

  2. ecozee says:

    forgot to say, you’re nearly there with the alphabet blanket, well done, you must crochet all the squares together before you send it and post a pic!

  3. P Jeanne Haessler says:

    Andrea thanks for this link to your blog. I love that tr/sc combo. I’m doing dc/sc squares right now but I like the bobble effect on the tr/sc. Is it hard to find which stitch to sc in on the next row, atop the treble? Just wondering. 🙂 luv, Jeanne

    • Not hard to find at all. The tr naturally sticks out so the top stitch stays in line with the sc. It’s a fun pattern! The original was a cuddle bag worked in the round, so to keep all the bobbles on one side, I alternated the rows with an sc row in between. 🙂

Leave a Reply

