Week 44: Cleaning Up My Act

Happy November, y’all! David had back surgery last Friday and it went well, with the exception of some inflammation and a wee trip to the ER on Sunday. He’s turned the corner now and is on the mend, with good days and bad days. In any case, I’m off work this week and I’m taking the opportunity to clean in a way I don’t usually have time for. Oh, I sweep the floors, wipe the counters, spot clean as I go… but nothing beats moving items off the counter and giving everything a good wipe down. Here are a few of my favourite cleaning tips that make life a little easier.

tile-grout-close-upGrout Cleaner
One of my Facebook friends posted this recipe and after trying it, I was really impressed. I like it because it uses all-natural ingredients and works like a charm. I halved the recipe because I don’t have a large area of tile to clean. It even cleaned off the hairspray accumulation from my bathroom floor.

7 cups water
1/2 cup baking soda
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup vinegar

Put in a spray bottle and spray your tile. Let it sit for two to three minutes. Scrub. Try not to be shocked by how well it works.

bakingsodaCleaning Burnt-On Food
We made mac and cheese a few weeks ago and some of the cheese sauce burnt to the bottom of my friend’s pot. I tried using my usual green scrubbie and copious amounts of elbow grease. It showed zero signs of coming off. On a whim, I added baking soda. The burnt food melted right off! It’s just abrasive enough to remove stubborn food but not too rough for your favourite stainless steel pots and pans. We tried it again at Thanksgiving and it worked great. I’m no stranger to the magic of baking soda but new uses keep coming up.

all-purpose-cleaner_originalGreen Works All-Purpose Cleaner
I don’t like to use chemicals when I clean, especially in the kitchen. I use a cream cleanser (and sometimes Borax) in the bathroom and Swiffer Wet Jet fluid to clean the floor. That’s it. A few weeks ago, I was at a Habitat for Humanity build and they gave us a swag bag filled with goodies. One of the items I carted home was a bottle of Clorox Green Works cleaner. I dismissively put it in the closet. I started to clean the kitchen this week and came across some stubborn grease. Why not try it, I thought. My kitchen has never been so shiny or easy to clean! Green Works is 98% naturally derived and safe for multiple surfaces. It was the added boost I’ve been looking for because soapy water just wasn’t cutting it.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 44

All the squares this week, except for square six, were made with the donated yarn I received last week. Square six is a “Z” for the alphabet blanket. One more square to go, a corner, and it will finally be finished! What do you think, should I: 1) join the squares and send as a complete blanket, or 2) send as squares along with a photo of them laid out?

Week 44

Orange SquareSquares four and five were made while I waited at the hospital for David. The funky orange yarn has little coloured threads and the bands of colour match.

Square Count: 308
Bonus Squares: 3
Blankets: 8
Hats: 9

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my three boys, Mason (10), Evan (7) and my dear husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 44: Cleaning Up My Act

  1. P Jeanne Haessler says:

    I admit I’d been wondering about the Green Works stuff, I’ve seen it advertised here. As for the squares, I love that burgundy and white/ivory diagonal square…lovely! And bravo on finishing the alphabet…w-o-w. As for whether to send it joined or not….hmmm. They always say send squares so they don’t get hit with customs but honestly I don’t think the post office is going to bother opening your package. So many packages are coming in now and some do contain complete blankets that it probably would help the women if you send a complete blanket to them. One less to join up eh? It’s your call of course. I like that lower right stripes square with the oatmeal/beige border on it, it’s very smart. I love that you get lots of donated yarn and make such excellent use of it. Way to go!

  2. ecozee says:

    Make the alphabet blanket – and then crochet all around the edge!!!

  3. Laura says:

    Congrats on the alphabet squares! I know I don’t post comments every week but I do read every week. Love hearing about eco cleaners. We don’t put anything toxic down our drains if we can help it. What goes around comes around! Orange yarn is coolio and like the texture and look of the diagonal pattern. Only a few weeks to go! And kudos for taking such good care of your David.

Leave a Reply

