Week 45: Heart-to-Heart

Taylor-blowing-kiss1Todd and Tara Storch’s daughter, Taylor, passed away in a Colorado ski accident when she was 13 years old. Her parents selflessly donated Taylor’s organs, giving the gift of life to a 49-year-old husband and father in Colorado (pancreas and one kidney), a 33-year-old man in Colorado (the other kidney), a 39-year-old mother of two in Arizona (heart), and two people in other parts of the country who received her corneas and liver.

Through the Internet, Todd and Tara were able to track down the woman who received Taylor’s heart, Patricia Winters. I’ve never seen the hosts on Good Morning America speechless.

The Storch family has created the Taylor’s Gift Foundation, with a mission to increase official organ donor registries, provide financial assistance and emotional support to those touched by organ donation, provide affordable lodging for pre-transplant and post-transplant patients and their families, and awarding Taylor’s Gift scholarships.

Outliveyourself

Taylor’s Gift strives to increase organ donation through its mission to Regift Life, Renew Health and Restore Families.  Taylor’s life and her passing have already inspired thousands of people from around the world to become organ donors themselves. Taylor was able to give the gift of life to a few and in turn, impacting many who will need it in the future.

I’m registered as an organ donor with the Province of Ontario. Obviously, it’s a very personal choice, but I figure if I’m not going to be using them, someone else should.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 45

Milestone alert… blanket number nine is complete! I created a flower pattern from the circle-in-a-square for squares four and five. Square six is made with donated yarn. The top and bottom of the square is the fuzziest and softest yarn I’ve ever worked with. I also made two bonus squares with double-strand sports-weight yarns.

Week 45

Poppy Square

Square eight is a poppy for our veterans and Remembrance Day.

Square Count: 315
Bonus Squares: 5
Blankets: 9!
Hats: 9

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my three boys, Mason (10), Evan (7) and my dear husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 45: Heart-to-Heart

  1. Pam Antink says:

    Thank you Andrea, although I’m not a fan of organ donation, the story has been circulating on Facebook and many people, including me, are touched by The Storch family and their commitment. Well done for keeping up with your blog, you are heading towards the finishing line!

  2. ecozee says:

    I’m a fan – I thought you might like this story, it’s our local town and hospital.https://www.organdonationscotland.org/news-events/unsung-hero-dedicates-healthcare-accolade-to-her-donors. I love the poppy square.

  3. Maudie says:

    An amazing story. Thank you for all that you do.

Leave a Reply

