Week 49: Ubuntu

BoydThere is a word in the African culture called Ubuntu. Literally translated into “human-ness”, it has come to mean “I am, because of you.” According to Boyd Varty, an environmental and literacy activist, it means people are not people without people. In other words, you affirm your humanity by recognizing the humanity of others.

In a more collective society, we realize from the inside that our own well-being is deeply tied to the well-being of others. Danger is shared; pain is shared; joy is shared; achievement is shared; houses are shared; food is shared. Ubuntu asks us to open our hearts and to share.

Growing up on a game reserve in South Africa gave Boyd a unique chance to observe the precarious balance between man and nature. It also gave him an opportunity to meet President Nelson Mandela when he was just nine years old.

THE LARGEST CLOUDS CHOIR

Back in Week 20, I introduced you to Zach Sobiech. Do you remember how he wrote and performed a song called “Clouds” before he passed away in May? On December 6, 2012 the radio station KS95 debuted Zach’s song during the KS95 for Kids Radiothon. One year later, 5,000 people gathered at the Mall of America in Minnesota to make the largest “Clouds” choir and remember Zach. (Warning: I was a soggy mess after watching this.)

I think this, and the work we do for Knit-a-square, are perfect examples of Ubuntu.

THE SQUARES – WEEK 49

My crochet hook was flying this week! I’ve entered “I think I can” mode so I can finish eleven blankets.

Week 49

The bonus squares…

Week 49 Bonus

Blue Stripes SquareSquare seven is the new stitch combo from last week but in stripes. I can’t resist this pattern. What should we call it?

Square Count: 343
Bonus Squares: 11
Blankets: 9
Hats: 9

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my three boys, Mason (10), Evan (7) and my dear husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 49: Ubuntu

  1. Susan Gillman says:

    Love this weeks squares beautiful beautiful!

  2. Pam Antink says:

    Loved Boyd’s TED Talk – so full of love, appreciation and humanity at its best. He is, without doubt, a thoughtful ad special man!

  3. Widad says:

    Your crochet are beautiful! Yes, there’s power in that word “Ubuntu”

Leave a Reply

