Squaring in a Circle

The first square I’ve made since the end of 2013 was crocheted at a knitting circle with a couple of friends. Being off work has finally given me the time to join a social circle and it’s amazing to see how much I get done.

Crocheting in public is very different from doing it with friends. I bring my crochet to the doctor’s office, parties, family get-togethers, the park and on transit. Most people ignore it and some ask what I’m working on. But when we’re all working on something, it becomes less about the needlework and more about the chatter. And I have to admit, I really like it.

Together SquareThis reversible square has a warm waffle texture. Using stripes really brings out the visual texture of the stitch (see Week 49 for examples). My next project uses this stitch in a baby blanket for a friend.

Start with an even number of chains.
Row 1: *Single crochet two together, chain one*, repeat * * across, sc in last stitch.

Row 2: *Sc two together (using the ch-1 space for the second half of the stitch), ch 1*, repeat * * across, sc in last stitch.

Get ready for a deluge of Michael’s blankets!
Blanket five…

BlanketFive

Blanket six…

BlanketSix

Blanket seven…

BlanketSeven

Blanket eight…

BlanketEight

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my three boys, Mason (10), Evan (7) and my dear husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Squaring in a Circle

  1. Jan Ellis says:

    Hi Andrea, I have only just discovered and joined KAS and really pleased that I did. I am from the UK. I am “talking” to you because on a bid to find interesting squares to crochet I came across your link/ comment about Zach Sobiech. I am so glad that I did. I had never heard of him or known his story but his song Clouds in particular – and the Largest Clouds Choir Holiday Version moved me so much I can’t express my feelings. I know I only joined KAS because I wanted to knit or crochet etc for charity, I also know that I am only a VERY new member but I have already found such friendly people and learned so much I was very ignorant about, that I am beginning to realise that whatever we think about ourselves and our knowledge, there is always a certain amount of complacency and naivety ( I think ignorance is harsh but probably that as well) in what we assume we know about the world. I am sorry that I sound pretentious but I really don’t know how to express my feelings about Zach, KAS and my ignorance about what is still happening to children in South Africa.

    • Welcome, Jan! I’m so glad you joined KAS and found my blog. Yes, we are a friendly bunch of people. I don’t think you sound pretentious at all. I think ignorance is about lack of knowledge, not intention. Now you have the knowledge and it sounds like you have the heart – imagine the change you can make in the world! It can seem like a daunting task to help those who in need but please know that you’re not alone, we’re all in this together. Feel free to explore my squares and ask if you have any questions about patterns or yarn. 🙂

  2. Pam Johnson says:

    Hi Jan,
    Have you joined the UK forum for lots more chat and support?
    Pam Johnson- Shropshire, UK

    • Jan Ellis says:

      Hello Pam, yes I joined the UK forum just after I joined KAS last weekend. I wanted to make something to give to someone- not make something to be sold on- so KAS seemed ideal. I had no idea how friendly and welcoming all the members would be!

  3. Chris says:

    Hi Andrea, I looked for info on the WUC at Michaels and haven’t found any links. I live east of Toronto (Whitby is my store of drooling choice). Is there any contact info for that area? Christine

    • Hi Christine! The only information I’ve been able to find has been on the WUA page, announcing that Michaels was starting a chapter in Canada. I assumed it was a head office initiative but it seems they leave it up to the individual stores to choose whether or not to participate. If you’d like to make squares for WUC I’d be happy to arrange a way to bring them to the Newmarket store. You’re so close to me, relatively speaking! It’s a shame you have to go all the way to Whitby. Thank you for your interest!

Leave a Reply

