Hearts Warming Hands

Last night I tucked the boys into bed and casually checked my email, where there was a March KASnippet waiting for me. I began reading about Hobby X and the move to the new office space (YAY!) but the Hand-Warmers stopped me in my tracks. I’ve always thought I needed to send a hat with a batch of squares but there’s been a surplus of hats. The perfect solution is Hand-Warmers! ‘What a fantastic idea’ was my first thought. ‘Think of the possibilities!’ was my second – the colours of the South African flag, a rainbow, adding a flower, adding a butterfly, stripes, a diagonal pattern… the possibilities truly are endless.

HandWarmers1I immediately went upstairs, chose my colours and started crocheting. I used 25 stitches, as Linda laid out in the pattern, worsted weight yarn and a 6.0 mm hook. In the time it takes me to crochet a square, one hour, I had a pair of completed hand-warmers. And they weren’t kidding, it took very little yarn. A great stashbuster! The sizing is perfect for both my 4-year old and 7-year old.

I did make some alterations. To save myself from the sewing, I crocheted my last row to the beginning chain, with the chain row at the front of my work and using the back loops of my second-to-last row, right sides together. For stitches 15 to 20, I crocheted only on the second-to-last row to create the thumb hole (see below), then picked up both rows for the last five stitches. Lastly, I added an edge around the top to stop little fingers from snagging the places where I carried the yarn. It also helps to give a nice finishing and shows where the top is so no one is guessing which way is up.

HandWarmers3

I’ve spent the last month crocheting mittens and hats for an April craft sale so making a pair of Hand-Warmers was a welcome diversion. I’m no stranger to ribbing, both on my mittens and from my knitting friends who tease me all the time about how fast crochet is compared to knitting.

HandWarmers2I can see already that these are going to be addictive. I have so many little balls of yarn to use up, some that were donated to me, some that were the end of a larger ball. It’s a great portable project with very little time commitment. They would slip nicely into a KAS package. And it would be an amazing first project for anyone learning to crochet or knit.

I say, HOORAY! for Linda Maltby!

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hearts Warming Hands

  1. Pam Antink says:

    Fabulous Andrea, and, for immediately starting the production line of Hand-Warmers! Thank you for the lovely photos and your careful explanation.

  2. wfih says:

    Gorgeous! I want to make some of these too but I only had a knitting pattern which I was a bit daunted by (s-l-o-w knitter!) Now I will be able to whip them up in time for my next donation! And very lovely pictures too. Thanks.

  3. wfih says:

    Hi again! I just came back to check the pattern. I moseyed around and found your posting of the ’empathy’ video. What a find!! Just wanted to say thank you so much. I will be showing this to lots of people, including my students. Cheers.

  4. Annie says:

    Hi Andrea. Thanks for writing these up in your blog! I printed out your instructions & great photos but ended up knitting them. Only change I made was doing a stretchy button hole for the thumb opening. Will use these as an excuse to figure out making tubes with 2 circular needles to avoid the seam. The crocheted version must be faster— on the to do list…

  5. Corliss Payne says:

    I just finished knitting hand warmers and will send them soon. I hope they fit someone and are useful. They are fun to knit.
    Corliss

  6. LoomaHat says:

    Awesome ! Need to include my loom knit group on KAS for this project

Leave a Reply

