Happy 8th birthday, Mason!

MasonMy big boy Mason turns eight years old today! Now that his Minecraft-themed party is over, I can share some pics. For those of you who don’t know, Minecraft is a computer game where you “mine” for 3D textured cubes and build, well, pretty much anything you want. It’s very popular with both kids Mason’s age and adults alike. I’ve learned a lot about Minecraft over the past month!

For the invitation, I got a 3″ brown box from a storage solutions store and printed green pixelated grass for the top and edge to mimic a grass cube.

Invitation

Mason labeled the food – wool (popcorn), sticks (pretzels), TNT (licorice) and monster eggs (jelly beans).

Food

Minecraft cakeI found out there is a cake in Minecraft. Who knew? Naturally, I had to make it and naturally, I had to add to it so it wasn’t so plain. So I made a sugar cookie pickaxe and iced squares onto it.

Cake

Then the boys “mined” (scavenger hunt) for crocheted Minecraft blocks – creeper, diamond, grass cube, obsidian, stone, TNT and emerald. I had a ton of fun making them!

Blocks

A good time was had by all! Now on to Evan’s birthday party ideas…

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy 8th birthday, Mason!

  1. wfih says:

    Absolutely mind-blowing. I am so impressed by the ‘package’! Great work!!

  2. Thank you, wfih! I try to make each birthday a memorable one for the boys. And it allows my creative juices to flow as well. I’m really enjoying your blog.

Leave a Reply

