Purl One, Knit For Good

My mom taught me to crochet when I was seven years old. In my memory I learned instantly, although I know that isn’t possible. I’m sure there were challenging times where I was trying to catch on to the stitches and order of things. Since I’ve been crocheting for such a long time it comes easily to me; I can read a pattern like a book, know what type of yarn it is by feel and turn out a square in about an hour.

Knitting, on the other hand, is another story. I learned to knit last year, again thanks to my mom. I had tried to knit (unsuccessfully) for years but finally something clicked. My first square took three days. I made one more square after that and put the idea of knitting aside.

TeddyFast forward to this past winter when I joined a knitting group. After being literally surrounded by knitters, I felt compelled to pick up the needles once again. I decided to knit a simple sweater for Evan’s teddy bear. I made some mistakes and more than once shouted at my husband, “I don’t know why people think this is a fun and relaxing thing to do!” while trying desperately to get my stitches back on the needle. I persevered and Teddy had a sweater.

JorgeThen it was Mason’s monkey’s turn. Jorge’s sweater went a little quicker but I still experienced some frustration. The difference was, I was finally learning the construction of the knitted stitch. I found better ways to fix my mistakes and even learned how to increase and decrease. Now I was unstoppable.

I moved on to a square. I really wanted to try the seed stitch. I learned how knit and purl stitches interacted with each other. I managed to finish a square the same day in which I had started. Next up: a basketweave square. I perfected the way I held my yarn and actually managed to keep track of my stitches.

Seed Stitch-Basketweave

Now I’m really hooked. Or would that be needled?

Check out the amazing squares members have made for the KAS July Challenge: Stripes, Textures, Zig-zags and a Mandela Day Salute. Mark your calendars for Mandela Day on July 18!

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was wee and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Purl One, Knit For Good

  1. Pam Antink says:

    Loved this issue Andrea, nothing like reading about other peoples frustrations and little failures to liven up a blog! Well done you for persevering, but I’m going to stick to sewing!

    • I wish I could sew, Pam! I think that’s another one of life’s challenges that will come to me eventually. Perhaps when I’m retired!

      What types of things do you sew? My mom is a quilter, which appeals to me more than making clothing.

  2. Anne Powell says:

    Well done, Andrea! Great blog, great sweaters, great squares!

  3. P Gray says:

    Well done for mastering a new skill. I’m sort of the opposite to you. I learned to knit as a child but have never learned to crochet. I have a lot of books that “show” you but I think I might need a live demonstration and keep I putting off finding the time and a willing instructor.
    I totally understand what you mean by understanding the construction of the stitches and how the knit and purl stitches interact. I think once you have your head around that it is much easier!
    Also just want to say kudos for attempting the jumpers first – I’ve always found squares and rectangles easier and assumed others would do those first as I did!

    • I wish I could teach you how to crochet! I’m sure you would be a willing student. I think I hadn’t taken to knitting in the past because I was trying to learn from a book. It took sitting down with someone to finally understand so I know exactly how you feel. 🙂

  4. Beverley Wilson says:

    Hello Andrea loved your squares. Is that seed stitch on the outside of the first one? If so can you tell me how you do it please.

    • Yes, Beverley, that is Seed Stitch! Also known as Moss Stitch, Seed Stitch is made by knitting the purl stitches and purling the knit stitches. Ribbing is done the opposite way, by knitting the knit stitches and purling the purl stitches. There’s a great website that I reference often, knittinghelp.com They have great videos that show you how to do each stitch.

      • Beverley Wilson says:

        Thank you for your quick reply Andrea will try it next time. I wasn’t even sure you would receive my query. I read most of Kas’s newsletters & sometimes I wish to participate but am at a loss to know where to begin with all the options available.
        I have been knitting & sending parcels since about 2012 & find it most rewarding and I also know how very lucky I am to live here in Australia.
        By the way I cannot crochet at all. Asked my grandmother to teach me when i was little but she was way too fast for me.

      • You’re very welcome! The forum can be a daunting place but the members are the most welcoming and supportive group of people I’ve ever encountered. By all means, feel free to contribute to any of the threads. All it takes is one post or reply and you’ll see what I mean.

        Thank you for your contributions to KAS. Every little bit helps! I know from experience how expensive it can be to send parcels; your efforts have not gone unappreciated. A little boy or girl is now warmer and feeling loved thanks to your knitting.

        One of these days (when I conquer my phobia of video cameras), I’ll attempt to teach you and everyone else who have wanted to learn how to crochet. I think it’s easier than learning how to knit (although I’m biased) and has its practical uses, like toys and thicker squares.

Leave a comment