Behold the Evolution

It was February 2009 when I received the email from Lion Brand Yarns introducing me to the world of Knit-a-square. Can you believe I actually emailed Sandy to ask if they’d accept crocheted squares? I had no idea what an impact my small amount of 8″ squares could make, nor the impact KAS would have on me.

First Squares

I joined the forum and started crocheting a handful of squares, originally with the goal of making enough squares for a blanket (40, at that time) by the end of the year. Then in April came the first forum challenge – make a square a day for a month. I decided that if I could complete the challenge then I was definitely committed. Thirty squares later, I was hooked! It’s hard to believe I used to send five or six squares at one time in a padded envelope.

Dance Blanket

At the end of 2009, Debbie Posmontier bought tickets to see the Soweto Gospel Choir in Philadelphia (U.S.) and suggested we make blankets for the choir members to bring back to South Africa with them. Could we do it in time? I created a jigsaw square pattern, pulled together my stash of yarn and finished the blanket with just enough time to post it for the concert. A total of 28 blankets were made and presented! And, unbelievably, my blanket was chosen to be on stage.

Dance

Personalized squares, baby blankets, GO-Overs, KASCuddles, hats, squares from quilt patterns… it didn’t take me long to branch out. My family started gifting me balls of yarn for Christmas and birthdays. I created alphabet books for members to print and send, an 8″ ruler to help spread the word and alphabet square patterns. For all that I’ve done for KAS though, this charity has returned the gift to me tenfold.

KAS has given me a chance to learn new patterns, play with colour and expand my crochet skills. I can’t describe the joy and pride I feel when I see one of my squares in a photo, in amongst all of the other colourful works of art.

Through KAS I have made friends across the globe and even met a few of them in person. One of these days, I’m going to travel for the sole purpose of meeting more of those lovely people.

KAS has given me something purposeful to do while waiting – in lines, for appointments, on transit – and allowed me to start conversations with curious people so I can raise awareness about the poverty and need in South Africa.

It has helped me to feel fulfilled as a human being because, from half a globe away, I can help children in need. I can’t think of anything else in this world, aside from helping by physically being there, that can give that feeling, and at so little cost.

So, thank you, Knit-a-square – Ronda, Wendy, Lindi, Wandi, Lorinda and so many more – for giving so much not only to me, but to all the precious children you help each day.

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Behold the Evolution

  1. Laura says:

    I’m glad this has brought you so much joy and fulfillment and helped so many others in the process: the children and also other creative knitters and crocheters.

  2. Pam Antink says:

    It is lovely to re-visit KAS history and one member’s development – it provides a snapshot as to how far each of us and KAS has come and the difference being made every single day to the children, who deserve our love and support.

  3. wfih says:

    Lovely, inspiring post. Thank you, and keep it up – it provides much encouragement!

  4. Wonderful, Andrea. Your blanket looks magnificent in the pic of the women on stage.

  5. sandymc52 says:

    Hi Andrea, what a lovely post to find today. Amazingly I am quoting this exact story in the upcoming TEDx talk I am doing about sharing stories and KAS. So wonderful to be reminded of this history and in particular the SOWETO Gospel choir event, which was such a major feat.

  6. Debbie Posmontier says:

    I remember your blanket well! I kept the blankets neatly folded in our son’s childhood bedroom and I visited them every few days as new blankets arrived. It was such an exciting project from collecting the blankets to arranging for the Springside School Choir to perform at the Annenberg Theater before the Soweto Gospel Choir and to then to have the choir girls present the blankets to the dancers on stage at the end of the performance. I also met other KAS members who came out to volunteer at our information table in the lobby. Sandy had a wonderful poster made for us to hang behind the table and we handed out flyers with every program to every person in the huge, sold-out auditorium. Then Jacqueline Sousa, who with her husband, had driven down from the Boston area to Philadelphia for the concert, took all of the blankets back home with her to be shipped to South Africa through the generosity of her boss. It was quite an inspiring event! Thanks for the memories!!

Leave a Reply

