Squares with Friends

Have you ever wondered what 370 squares, five hats, two sweaters, two cuddlebags, one Go-Over, handwarmers and countless slip-ins look like? An influx of squares and hours of work created a backlog that I finally packed, weighed and wrapped.

Packages

That’s right, nine packages, made (and filled) with love!

On Sunday, I was lucky enough to meet up with some fellow KASers. There’s nothing like it to renew enthusiasm for different patterns, techniques and colours.

At the cafe

Striped SquareWe talked of more KASers getting together in the future. Wouldn’t it be great to organize “reunions” in different parts of the world? Knit-a-square has managed to bring so many different people together for a common cause. It is such an experience to finally meet virtual friends in person. I highly recommend it!

About Andrea Squared

I've been a crocheter since I was 7 years old and I've been knitting since 2013. My life is filled with love and joy from my two boys, Mason and Evan, my dear husband and our Australian Shepherd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Squares with Friends

  1. Pam Antink says:

    As you say Andrea, stitched with love – an absolutely vital ingredient! The children must imbue that quality when they wear the blankets and other goodies – it cannot fail!

  2. Gloria Grandy says:

    Oh Andrea!! how fabulous to see a photo of that beautiful red and white square and realize that I actually watched you knitting it!! What a terrific visit it was. I agree with you that getting together to meet (and hug) our KASsisters certainly does renew enthusiasm for everything “KAS”. Just imagine KASreunions taking place in different parts of the world … how wonderful that would be! I second your recommendation … xo

  3. Maudie Bryan says:

    What a beautiful photo Andrea. I love the pile of squares and goodies all parcelled. Packing them for posting is quite an event isn’t it. It was good for all of us too to see your happy faces together.

  4. Andrea I do love that red and white square and it’s a great photo of you all getting together to chat and knit and crochet. Loving hearts and hands, instant friends….great!

  5. Have been trying to catch up on my backlog of emails and noticed when reading the latest from KAS that you are in Ontario, as I am . I do not know where to send my squares that I have completed. Do you have a group that I might email or join? I live near London. .My email address is dtwynstra@rogers.com.

    • Completed squares can be sent to:
      Knit-A-Square
      Private Bag X900,
      Bryanston 2021, South Africa

      Make sure you declare a $0 value and write on the box “No Commercial Value, For Charity Only.” There is a great packaging slip on the forum in PDF format that includes those labels. You can find more info here: http://www.knit-a-square.com/postal.html

      From Canada, you can send 1 kg and 2 kg packages for around $20 and $31 respectively.

      • Tom Skupham says:

        In the U.K. we can send by surface Mail for £ 8.05 for 1kg
        Sandra & I were honoured to receive this months Square award especially as most of you Ladies do much more than we do. personally I can manage 1 Square a Day ,I knit Dog Coats for a Greyhound rescue( in between knitting for KAS) Charity based herein the U.K. & Sandra Knits garments for prem. babies, ,as the citation said we started near the beginning , so the award must be fog longevity

Leave a Reply

